Requested Recipes

The prepared enchiladas.... ready to go in the oven... or to be covered and frozen for another time.

I try to cook most all of my family’s meals from scratch.  Which, if you knew me 6 years ago, would be hard for you to believe.  Since I’ve been married and had kids, I have discovered that I sort of enjoy cooking new recipes.  But my main motivation for cooking from scratch is money and health.   I try to designate one day per week  for cooking.  On that day I cook a few dishes and prepare as much as possible for meals and store  in the fridge to be cooked later in the week.  This cuts down on my meal prep time the rest of the week, and allows me to avoid fast food and processed pre-packaged crap.

I am dependent on my freezers.  I’m a big fan of cooking double batches of meals and freezing half of it.  I have two big deep freeze freezers plus the freezer above the fridge, and they are always full of casseroles and beef.  Since we raise our own beef, we consume a lot of it.  I am constantly adapting recipes… adding frozen vegetables or different seasonings. I’ve even discovered a way to make home-made “cream-of” soup…. so much healthier than the sodium and calorie-laden canned stuff.

One of my favorite (and most requested) recipes is beef enchiladas:

1 lb ground cooked beef or shredded cooked roast beef

1 packet taco seasoning

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can chopped green chilies

Mix above ingredients together for enchilada filling.

1 can cheddar cheese soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can chopped green chilies

8 oz sour cream

Mix last 4 ingredients together for sauce.

Preparing the enchiladas. One bowl of meat mixture, one bowl of sauce, one tortilla being filled, one tortilla in the pan all wrapped and ready to go.

Fill 8 large tortillas with meat mixture and top with part of sauce mixture.  Roll up tortillas and place seam side down in greased 9×13 casserole dish.  Cover with left over sauce mix and shredded cheese of your choice.  Bake at 350 degrees until dish is bubbly (approximately 45 minutes).

This dish is great for freezing.  Just use a baking dish that can be covered with a lid. Prepare as usual, and put in freezer instead of oven.  When you’re ready to eat it, take out a couple days beforehand and allow to thaw in fridge.  Then bake in oven like normal, except you will have to add some time to bring the temperature of the casserole up.

And here’s an excellent recipe for a “healthy” chocolate cake…. and it tastes pretty darn good too.  I subsitute half of the sugar in it with splenda to reduce the calories even further.  Also… a tip on the caster sugar: take regular sugar and run it through the blender, and voila!  you have caster sugar!

I am constantly looking for new, simple recipes… so if you wanna share…please do!

This one is just for fun because I don't have a lot of pictures of the food. It's been a hot summer in Iowa so far!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wayne Nieman on June 19, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Liz,

    You are making me hungry just by reading your blog! Nice job.

    Wayne Nieman

  2. Ha oops just realized I posted my comment on the wrong post. Pretend I commented on the recipe correctly lol.

    Christina

  3. Hey – I can’t figure out how to follow you? Do you have an RSS feed?

    • Hi there… love your blog too! I love seeing what other people are doing on their farms! I’m still new at this, so I’ll try to help you figure out how to follow me….not sure how to do the RSS thing… but if you go to the About tab towards the top of blog, click on that and scroll to the bottom of that page, there is a spot that says “Subscribe to this blog by email” and you will get an email any time I update 🙂

  4. I wish I was a good cook like you! I’m at work right now, reading about your culinary adventures…feeling like I need to crack open the Julia Child cookbook for inspiration; yes, all the recipies are probably fattening, but MAN do they taste good!

    My husband does most of the cooking in our house for three reasons : he works early mornings so he’s home a couple hours before I am; he enjoys it; my 13-year-old daughter prefers his cooking.

    Hmmm…wonder what’s for dinner tonight? Keep up the good work, Liz!

  5. Wow! You are good!

    I still can’t figure out how to follow you…can you help me out?

Comments are closed.

