Recipe Thursday: Barbecue Beef Pizza

Yummy yum yum!!

I made this up the other night… and, boy oh boy, was it a hit!!  I had a few sources of inspiration.  First, I got to talking with a mother that was at church camp with Russell and I earlier this summer, and she suggested we try home made pizza on the grill.   Then my sister made a post on facebook about making bbq chicken pizza.  Well, since we raise beef, we have lots of it, and I often get creative by turning chicken recipes into beef recipes. This one turned out to be over-the-top yummy!

Ingredients:

2 loaves frozen bread dough (unthawed and allowed to rise)

1 slow cooked and fork shredded roast ( I used an arm roast)

1/2 bottle of bbq sauce (whatever kind tickles your taste buds)

1/4 cup minced onion

1 or 2 tsp minced garlic

2 tbs olive oil

1 can tomato sauce

2 tbs brown sugar

2 tbs vinegar

1 lb shredded mozzarella

Suggested toppings (any or all, I didn’t use any): pineapple, green pepper, red pepper, onion, tomato

Directions:

Light charcoal grill ( I suppose you could use a gas grill or your oven too, but you’re really missing out!!).  Grease large round pizza pan or cookie sheet.

For the crust: Use hands to stretch and spread both loaves of bread dough over pan, this can take quite a bit of time, and it helps to walk away and give the dough a rest, then stretch some more.  I apologize for not taking more pictures, I’m working at becoming a more aware picture-taker!

For the sauce: Begin by sauteing the garlic and onion in the olive oil.  When the onions are well-cooked, add the tomato sauce, brown sugar, and vinegar. I added a few drops of liquid smoke too.  Mix well.  Don’t worry about heating it up much, that will happen when the pizza is baked.  Spread the sauce on your pizza crust.

Mix the shredded beef with about 1/2 bottle of bbq sauce, until you have the consistency you desire.  Then top the pizza with the meat mixture and any additional desired toppings.

Top pizza generously with shredded mozzarella, and there you have it.  One huge pizza ready to go on the grill (or in the oven).  Grill or bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, until cheese is melted and crust is golden brown.

Lucy liked it! (Yes, the closer it gets to bed time, the more clothes my children tend to lose)

My family wolfed this down, and I don’t blame them… it was a delicious way to use up a roast.  The pizza was huge, so if you’re not cooking for a herd, you could cut the ingredients down and use a smaller pan.  I think the grill added an extra flavor that made it even more delectable!

Hazel ate a ton! And wanted seconds!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh…I have to try this! I’m not a big fan of chicken dishes and would prefer a beef version of BBQ pizza. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Posted by Corinne on November 30, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Oh Liz! You should throw pickles on this pizza too. BBQ beef pizza with pickles is one of my all time favorites!

Comments are closed.

