Beef Salad Sandwiches

Yum!

A while back, I was lamenting to a group of friends about my problem with roasts, and how they never seem to get eaten around our house.  This is when I learned about beef salad…you know, like tuna salad or egg salad sandwiches?  Except these are much better than that, because beef is the tastiest form of protein. 🙂 I know it sounds weird, but don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!!

It tastes much better than it looks...think tuna salad....without the fishy tuna taste.

This is so simple to make.  Cook a roast in a crock pot with some water and whatever sort of seasonings you prefer, maybe a splash of cider vinegar or tomato juice to tenderize.  Cook until roast falls apart.  About 4 to 6 to 8 hours — that’s the great thing about crock pots, they aren’t too scientific on their cooking times.  Separate meat from fat and bone as you shred with two forks.  Cool in fridge for at least an hour.  Mix with mayo (1 cup or more) and relish (3 tablespoons or to taste).  Put on bread and top with things like pickles, tomatoes, and/or lettuce.  During harvest  I will make a big batch of this and keep it in the fridge for quick meals on the go. Enjoy!

I like to top mine with pickles. They would also be good with cheese, lettuce, or tomato on top.

You don't need much to make these super delicious cold meat sandwiches

Click here for the link to

this super easy recipe.

Kids on Justin on the couch. They are all happy. 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wayne on November 5, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I just ate breakfast, but reading this made me hungry again!

  2. I remember my Grandma Gladys’ beef salad sandwiches; I wrinkled my nose at first, until I took my first bite; awesome! Thanks for the flashback! Good times…

  3. Posted by Amber Nieman on November 6, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Liz,
    I love reading all of your posts, but all the recipes make me realize what I’m eating here really stinks and makes me hungry for a meal made not from a can/box/freezer and seasoned with way too much salt. Your recipes make me super hungry and sound very tasty. Can’t wait until Thanksgiving where there will be a ton of homemade food!

    • Thanks Amber…Russell drew a picture for you the other day…now, just to get around to putting it in the mail….oh, another cute story… we drove by your mom and dad’s house this morning, and Justin asked Russell who lives there. He said, “Grandma and Grandpa…and Amber’s going to move back in when I’m 10 and she’s done with college.” 🙂

Comments are closed.

