Biscuits from Scratch

Simple ingredients for this simple recipe.

This is a simple, yet hard to perfect, recipe.  But it does well when you’re in a pinch and don’t have any Bisquick or refrigerator biscuits on hand.

Be sure to mix together the dry ingredients first.  And carefully measure….no guesstimating for this recipe.

When adding the shortening, it will take awhile to make the mixture uniform.  It doesn’t have to be perfectly uniform though, clumps add to the texture.  You really have to dig in and get your hands dirty for this, I’ve found no easier way.

Make sure to add the milk very gradually as well, and you *might* need to add a little more flour or milk to get the dough “just right.”

Roll out dough to 1" thickness.

Then, be sure to have a well floured surface to roll out the dough, and handle the biscuits lightly and quickly.

Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes, slather on some butter, let it melt, and eat while they’re still hot….ooooo….my stomach is growling!

I have frozen the uncooked dough, with minimal success.  This recipe is just really touchy, and I have a heck of a time making any sort of bread products from scratch.  If you have any tips or tricks for me….I’m all ears!!

Here’s the link. Let me know what you think!!

 

I love to let the kids help cut them out....and pick the shapes to cut them in.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I have the same time with biscuits (and sometimes pie crust–bread? no problem!) My mom is excellent at all of this. She always says the less you handle the biscuits, the better they will be. If you mix them too much or use too much flour, they will be tough. The same for pie crust. I always lightly mix with a fork, and then I work it with my hands. I stop mixing BEFORE I think they are all mixed. This seems to work. You also need to make sure your baking powder isn’t expired/working right. Bad baking powder means flatter biscuits. There’s some test to see if it’s working–I forget what it is. I”m sure it’s on the internet!

    • Thank you for the tips…..I will experiment next time. I do monitor my baking soda….didn’t know that baking powder can go bad, but it does make sense. I’ll google it 🙂

      • This if from http://www.joyofbaking.com:
        To test baking powder’s effectiveness: mix 1 teaspoon (5 grams) baking powder with 1/2 cup (120 ml) hot water and the mixture should bubble immediately. Store in a cool dry place and it should be replaced every 6-12 months.

        This is what I remember doing–I think I actually read it in Heloise or something. 🙂

  2. Awesome…I’m going to try that next time. Such a simple solution. Gotta love that!

  3. […] variety of bbq sauce.  Pour the mixture into a greased 13×9 casserole dish.  Top with buttermilk biscuits or crescent rolls.  The kids and I like to get creative with our biscuit making, but a tube of […]

Comments are closed.

