Blizzard

I woke up this morning to a house that was 49 degrees, 10 foot drifts across our driveway, and this window in the office. Unless you have been living under a rock, you know the midwest is experiencing a nasty blizzard. I just thought I’d put it into words. If you live somewhere tropical…please kindly SHUT UP today. And if you are experiencing this blizzard personally, please kindly DO NOT GO ANYWHERE UNLESS YOU ARE ABOUT TO DIE. Thank you and have a WONDERFUL day!

And here, is a link to a previous post I wrote about the challenges we face here on the farm, for your reading pleasure: Winter on the Farm.

Also, since I will not be going anywhere today, you can expect another post on my thoughts of Oprah and her staff going vegan for a week. Stay tuned, you might be surprised!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Wow Liz! You guys need a new window there; you’ve got half a drift in your living room! Glad it missed Dora the Explorer coloring book (my daughter used to love her!). Take care and stay warm!

    • Oh Laurie, don’t I know it!! I’m pretty sure we could win the “oldest, draftiest” window contest hands down. Our house has over 40 windows in it. All of them extra tall, extra old, and extra drafty. I have plastic, heavy curtains, the whole shebang. Hopefully someday (soon) we will get them replaced.

  2. Posted by Aunt Jina on February 2, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Hi Liz, this is the kind of blizzard I was telling you about a month ago. (When Mike, Mitch and I got stranded in Calmar going from La Crosse to Audrey and Bob’s many years ago when Mickie was in college at La Cross.)

    • Jina, I do not plan to set foot outside until tomorrow. In fact, I don’t think I’ll even look out there. I HOPE this blizzard is one for the record books, because I do not want to experience another one again, ever!

  3. Oh man, I thought I was the only one dealing with issues like that. The curtains in Adam’s room were blowing around last night, like we had the window open! New windows and siding are coming to our house this summer, we hope.

  4. Stay warm, stay dry. We have an old house too and that temp indoors is just a misery.

    • Thanks! I’m beginning to think I might as well just give my firstborn to the LP delivery man…he’s been here once a week lately.

Comments are closed.

