Cowboy Casserole

Fun and delicious!

I discovered, and tweaked, this somewhat popular recipe a few years back.  It’s a different take on casserole.  If you like pork and beans and barbeque sauce, then this recipe is for you.  I personally love it! 

Super quick, easy, cheap ingredients. Beef, BBQ Sauce, Beans, Biscuits.

Dump mixture into a casserole dish, and top with uncooked biscuits. That's it!

Begin by browning a pound or two of ground beef, maybe add in some onions if you’re so inclined.  Drain the beef and add 1 large can of pork and beans plus a cup of your favorite variety of bbq sauce.  Pour the mixture into a greased 13×9 casserole dish.  Top with buttermilk biscuits or crescent rolls.  The kids and I like to get creative with our biscuit making, but a tube of refrigerator biscuits will do fine.  And that’s all.  Bake it for about 30-40 minutes or freeze for another day. 

Click here for a printable version, and the calorie count, of this recipe.

I like to serve this recipe with celery and carrots and ranch dip. 

Enjoy!

Unrelated cute kid picture.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wayne Nieman on March 1, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    You are making me hungry!

  2. Posted by Sharon Osweiler on March 1, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Wow! Why didn’t I think of this? I look forward to serving this to my family and seeing their reactions. Liz, keep these easy, yet delicious, recipes coming our way.

  3. Posted by Cheyenne Stapley on March 22, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    This is perfect! I’m going to go and try and make this for supper! Hooray!

    I agree with your post above—a farm isn’t a farm without a dog! 🙂

Comments are closed.

