One Year Ago….

I posted my first post to this blog!

Read it by clicking here: http://iafarmwife.com/2010/03/31/and-in-the-beginning/

It’s hard to believe I’ve been at it for a year.  But, then again, it feels like I’ve been doing it forever, too!

To celebrate this milestone, I’m going to do my very first giveaway!

Up for grabs is a $50 gift certificate to go towards a custom metal gift of your choosing and design from Schares Metal Works! Schares Metal Works is owned and operated by my close friends, Corinne and Jake Schares.

Corinne has been my bestest friend since before either one of us can remember.  We went to school together.  I even followed her when she moved away in 1st grade, I moved away to the same town  a year later, just a mile down the road from her.  We rode our ponies and horses all over the countryside, and have countless stories about our adventures. (One of the the most memorable being when we were in 5th grade and raced our horses around the school’s track and thought we got away with it….until we were called to the principal’s office the next day.  But that’s a story for another day!)  My friendship with Corinne could provide subject matter for many many blog postings, let’s just say that.  🙂

Anyhow…back to the giveaway.  Corinne and Jake can custom cut just about whatever you can imagine out of metal.  Here are a few examples:

3D Name

3D Football Helmet

3D Farm Sign

Lighted Signs!

 

Outdoor, custom welcome signs! Seriously, your imagination is the limit!

Look at the detail! Corinne and Jake made this sign for me and my siblings to give to my Dad & his friend, Deb, for Christmas. I couldn't be happier with how it turned out!

Cool, inspirational words...would make great gifts.

Love these, wouldn't they be a great wedding gift?

Honestly, go check out their website at www.scharesmetalworks.com!

You will be fascinated by their creations, I promise!  Make sure you pay a visit to the gallery, where they show how they can turn any picture into a custom metal display!

So, in order to enter the giveaway, please comment on this post and answer me this question:

“What agricultural topic/rumor/question would you like to see me address?”

I will use a random number generator to pick the winner.  Please, share my blog and Corinne & Jake’s website with your friends!!

Thanks so much for reading!

Liz

17 responses to this post.

  1. What a nice idea! And congratulations on your anniversary. My idea for a topic/question would be the radiation in milk scare that seems to be starting on the west coast. New York is already jumping on the bandwagon to begin testing

  2. Posted by Marilyn Platner on April 1, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Liz
    You do a wonderful job addressing the issues at hand. A biggie for me is for people to understand their food/fiber choices are affordable, safe and abundant, that farmers care deeply about the soil, the crops they grow and their animals etc.

    Keep posting!!

  3. Posted by Wayne on April 1, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks for another great post on your blog. How about addressing this issue: how can farmers best invest their profits from “good” years to prepare for “lean” years since the economy is cyclical (not to mention the projected upcoming burst in the farm real estate “bubble”)? Don’t try to answer that in 25 words, or less!

  4. Posted by jen on April 1, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Congrats on a year. I think that it is great how you are sharing what you love to do with others to help educate them. As for me and my family, how do you balance a young family, volunteering and the time commitment that it takes to be successful in farming..
    WE are always open for suggestions!

  5. Posted by susan on April 1, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    ok–how come this is the first time i am hearing about the horses on the track story? anyway… i love the blog and am so proud of you! not sure if you ever covered the farm safety days that are put on by different groups….that is my suggestion.

    • OK, mom! I wasn’t going to comment back on any of these….but…. I know you knew about the horses! You have to have just forgotten!

  6. Posted by Jill on April 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Congrats Liz! How about a post regarding corn/bean rotation or one on nitrogen application and why its so important for corn and other crops. Another idea to go along with nitrogen would be to tell us about anhydrous and the dangers and what your farm does in the safety area with anhydrous.

  7. Posted by vicki on April 2, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Id like to know when it comes to agriculture and crops the hormones used in plants we eat or animals what effects does that have on us humans, especially our kids?

  8. Posted by Geri Salisbury on April 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    You are fortunate to have Corrine as your best friend. She is such a pleasant person. I have dealt with her when I bought a car and during the past year, I have had her make 4 different items for the walls of my grandchildren. You have 2 of them on your site.
    My question that has to do with agriculture is “Is the government still paying for farmers to not plant crops”. With the economy the way it is and homeless people problems,I think we should be planting all our land.

  9. Posted by Beth Diers on April 3, 2011 at 12:58 am

    I want to have you talk about taxing farmers for methane gas produced by livestock.

  10. Posted by Kristi Martin on April 3, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Liz I think you are doing a great job keeping it real. There is so many people who really do not know how it is all put together. To ask for something specific I can not think of an area that you are missing! You pass on your knowledge and it keeps the rest of us informed. Thank you and again a great job!.

  11. Posted by Judy Schnittjer on April 3, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Liz,as I’ve said before, you have a great talent for presenting farming issues from a first-hand basis….and telling it in a way that teaches anyone who reads your articles…from family life on the farm to agriculture issues. What a joy to read…and to know you! God has blessed you and you’re using your gifts.

  12. Posted by Rose on April 3, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I remember reading that first blog of yours and thinking I can’t wait to read the next one. Really like your style of combining seriousness with humor thrown in. I would like to see something about how can the small family farm stay competitive against these big cooperation farms?

  13. Posted by Joy on April 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Liz: As a goofy city slicker you have managed to educate me in ways I’ve never imagined possible through your blog. I would be interested in learning at what point would radiation begin effecting our animals and crops? Just exactly what is a “safe” level to consume?

  14. Congrats!

    How about the differences in farming here vs. Europe? Or causes of shortages in the world food supply?

    I would love to win!

  15. Posted by Lindsey on April 5, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I enjoy your blog, Liz! My idea is What is your take/opinion on Monsanto having a monopoly on GM seeds? Are the seeds better/cheaper/less maintenance than otherwise? Here’s the article I was reading…http://www.slashfood.com/2011/03/30/group-challenges-monsantos-patent-on-genetically-modified-seeds/ Its an interesting topic since there is a more public movement towards organic food.

  16. […] “Posted by Rose on April 3, 2011 at 1:30 pm […]

Comments are closed.

