Orange Lucy

No, not an oompa loompa or jaundice or a fake tan gone bad....just a little cattle marker facial.

Lucy has been helping me with cattle chores quite a bit lately.  She’s really a good helper, most of the time.  She is learning how to hold gates for the tractor to drive through, but still needs her brother’s help.  She loves to look for “princess cattle.”  Don’t ask me what qualifies a calf as a princess.  I think any white faced calf can qualify, but they also have to look like they are wearing a crown.  I don’t know, Lucy’s three, and her standards change by the minute.

Well, the other day Lucy discovered a large orange cattle marker that we use for putting a waterproof mark on a calf that has been treated for an illness or ailment.  She decided to “decorate” the tractor cab while I was in the skid loader, filling the feedwagon.  In less than 10 minutes, she managed to cover the back window of the cab, the back of the seat, and herself with orange.

Guilty as charged.

She knew the second I opened the tractor door that she was in trouble, as she was hiding behind the tractor seat.  She’s such a sensitive child.  I just made her hand me the marker, and told her that she would have to explain to Dad (who drives the tractor most of the time) and Uncle Kevin (who owns the tractor) why the tractor was orange.  She told them, and was highly embarrassed while doing so.

When I first discovered Lucy’s “decoration,” I was mad…. but now that it’s all cleaned up, it was pretty funny.

Lucy's artwork on the tractor window.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wayne Nieman on May 16, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    It’s a good thing that this isn’t a busy time of the year so that Kevin and Justin had plenty of time to clean the tractor and windshield!

  2. Posted by Lyndi on May 16, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    I love your blog!

  3. Posted by Tom on May 16, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    That is hilarious! With that face, I’m sure Dad and Uncle Kevin couldn’t have been too upset. When my son was 1 he chewed all of the tips off a box of Crayola markers (they must have been flavored?) and his face was covered in black, orange, blue, purple, red, etc., as was the carpet all around him. Fortunately they were “washable” markers but I didn’t know that before the panic set in about what his mom was going to do to the both of us! I was so worried about getting him cleaned off that I didn’t take pictures — but looking back it was pretty funny.

  4. Posted by Shana on May 16, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Poor Kookie! Gotta love those things that they do that really don’t cause any ‘major damage’. Not fun to clean up, but a good lesson learned.

  5. I wandered over from Gate to Plate and am excited to follow! I love this post! We’ve had everything from chalk drawings in the driveway (that only time will ‘clean’) and chalk through the Dryer! Never a dull moment, that’s for sure! Thanks for the laugh, glad you got it clean!

    • Hi Ellen, thanks for dropping in….there is just something fascinating about those cattle markers isn’t there???

Comments are closed.

