The Big Red Tractor and the Little Village

My wonderful mom-in-law showed up here one afternoon shortly after mother’s day bearing gifts.  She had a very neat, personalized, Busy Mom’s Bible for me.  I love it! It has devotionals throughout. It has an awesome cover that makes it flexible, yet durable, and it’s small enough to throw in a purse.

Russell loves it!

But….the really cool book that she discovered in her pursuit of my gift was for the kids.  Titled,“The Big Red Tractor and the Little Village,”it instantly appealed to this farm family.  (Especially the fact that it was about a red tractor!)  But, in reading the book, it got even better, like it was written specifically for our family.  I won’t totally give the book away, but there are a couple cute parts I can’t help but share.

"The Big Red Tractor and the Little Village." A great kid's book!

The book is about a small village that plants their garden every year with their big red tractor.  One day, Farmer Dave discovers the operator’s manual for the tractor and stays up all night reading it.  (That could totally be my Justin, or his brother Kevin, whenever they get a new piece of farm equipment they will pour over the operator’s manual!)  Farmer Dave learns so much about the tractor that he works all night and falls asleep on the tractor.  (Again, don’t know how many hours the men in the family have slept in a tractor cab.)

The operator's manual....of significant importance in this farm family.

Sleeping on tractors is also a common occurrence around here.

It also has a nice agricultural thread throughout it, it’s not just a cutesy pointless, book.  The other great, and somewhat unexpected thing, about this book is that is has a Christian message  about integrity and sharing in the end.  It touches on some big subjects, and brings them down to an early elementary level while being quite entertaining.  We love it here in our house.

That’s all I’ll say about the book, in case you’re interested in getting it for yourself.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the book suggestion! We’re always looking for new reads and farming books Always top the list!

  2. I would like to have you featured at my website http://farmnwife.com. Please email if you would like to participate. judi at farmnwife.com
    thanks
    judi

  3. Posted by Jeanne Dutoit on June 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Good morning Liz

    My name is Jeanne and I am the Assistant Producer for the Swiss Television. Our correspondent is currently working on a story about beef cattle farmers in the United States. Right now I am looking for somebody who would like to give us an interview and show his farm to us. We are mainly interested in the feeding practice in the United States. I found your blog and I just love the way you are writing about your daily life and your work. You would be perfect for our story. Would you accept to be interviewed? Our reporter and one cameraman would visit you and your family in Iowa.
    Please feel free to contact me anytime: 202 775 2967 or producer@swisstv.us

    I wish you a nice day and am waiting for your news
    Best,
    Jeanne

  4. Posted by Jeanne Dutoit on June 13, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Hi Liz
    I am the Assistant Producer for the Swiss Television and we are working on a story about beef cattle farmers. I love the way you are writing about your daily life and your work on the farm. I already left you a message on your facebook. Please contact me, it would be very helpful. Best regards, Jeanne

Comments are closed.

