Friend Week “Iowa Farm Bureau”

The Iowa Farm Bureau Ag Leaders class of 2009, a wonderful, year long experience that I was a part of. This class gave me a ton of motivation, inspiration, and confidence!!

I have been involved with my county and state Farm Bureau for about 6 years now.  It all started way back when I was a newlywed, newly pregnant farm wife.  I got a phone call one night from an acquaintance through church.  She was recruiting new board members, and was wondering if  Justin would be interested in attending a meeting.  I told her he might be, but I definitely was!  I was new to the community yet, and looking for something to get involved in.  The way she described Farm Bureau made it sound like something I’d definitely want to be involved in.

Many people recognize Farm Bureau as an insurance company.  But there is a whole other, separate yet connected side to it, the Farm Bureau Federation.  Farm Bureau works to represent farming families and businesses in their local communities, states, and nationwide.  It does so through lobbying efforts, public relations, educational programs, and various other services.  The greatest part about Farm Bureau is that it is grassroots driven, it represents what its members want it to represent.  Anyone who is a member can be active with their county, state, or the American Farm Bureau and let their voice be heard.

This last winter, I got to present at the Iowa Farm Bureau's Young Farmer Conference.

I have had countless wonderful experiences with Farm Bureau.  I am so thankful for the opportunities it has brought me. From the statewide young farmer conferences, to the county’s policy development process, to becoming the county president…and much, much more…I have grown and learned so much!  Farm Bureau is a great organization, and I invite you to check out their blog, Farm Fresh, if you’re not already familiar.

I’m calling the Iowa Farm Bureau a bloggy friend because, if it was not for my participation in Farm Bureau activities, I never would have found the resources it took for me to get this blog going.  In 2009, I was a part of the state’s leadership program, which allowed me to attend an interactive session with Michele Payn Knoper, an expert on social media and “ag-vocating.”  She inspired me to start this blog (and she will be featured this week too!)   Farm Bureau really supported me, and brought some readers my direction when they picked up this post I wrote about Farmers in Business Suits, and shared it on their blog.

Also, if you are interested in joining, especially if you live in Delaware County, send me a message!!  I’ll hook ya up!  It’s the best $35 you’ll ever spend!

</object>

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mike on June 14, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I happened to notice your comment, in the presentation above that you gave at the Iowa Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Conference. Can you elaborate on what you meant by “Don’t expect to convince the “crazies”. Just curious.
    Thanks,
    Mike

    • Hi Mike,
      That bullet point was in reference to people who are unable to be convinced of something despite evidence to back it up. I imagine we’ve all dealt with them, and we are all probably “crazy” in some part of our life. Certain things just aren’t up for debate with some people, and it’s a waste of time to “go there” with them. I’ll admit, there are some things I willfully believe (Jesus Christ is our savior, for example) and there is next to nothing that will change those beliefs, it’s a subject I’ll discuss, but there’s no chance that someone will convince me otherwise. And sometimes we just have to accept that when dealing with people, we may have to agree to disagree.
      Thanks for asking.
      Liz

  2. Liz,
    Thank you for your kind words, but it is members like you that make the Iowa Farm Bureau what it truly is – a family-oriented, grassroots organization dedicated to farming and the future of Iowa! Thanks for all of your efforts!

    Sara
    CMO, Iowa Farm Bureau

  3. Posted by Mike on June 14, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Thanks for your reply Liz and congratulations on your accomplishments. Basically, I was curious to know your top five or ten “crazies” (organizations, associations, people, etc.) list relative to your Iowa Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Conference presentation.

    Thanks,
    Mike

    • Mike,
      Hmmmm….well…. I’d have to say:

      1) HSUS & Wayne Pacelle — The Humane Society of the United States is an organization that claims to be all about helping distraught pets, but a closer look will reveal that they have a vegan agenda, and most of the funds they raise go towards lobbying efforts and salaries.

      2) PETA — Basically a more brash, honest HSUS.

      3) Animal rights extremists in general — They are convinced that “meat is murder” and there is no rationalizing with them.

      4) Radical environmentalists — Individuals convinced that only organic farming and nothing short of full out bans on “evil” modern farming practices, will save the world.

      5) Anyone who uses harsh language, offensive terms, and name calling to get their point across.

      Good question….thanks for asking. 🙂

  4. Posted by Mike on June 15, 2011 at 1:07 am

    Thanks for sharing your list.

    All the best.

    Mike

Comments are closed.

