Friends Week “Kitchen Stewardship”

Please take some time to visit Katie's website. It is incredibly well written and informative.

Awhile back, Katie at Kitchen Stewardship contacted me with a proposal.  She was putting together a panel of cattle farmers to talk about how they raise their livestock.  She was looking for a diverse group,  somehow got ahold of my blog, and thought I’d be a good representation of a “big” farmer.  I browsed her site, and was instantly intrigued.  Katie and I hold many differing viewpoints, but I deeply appreciate her respect for that.  In her own words, “Kitchen Stewardship dishes out on real food and natural living in bite-sized baby steps. Stewardship of our resources is a call from God, and you can answer it!”  Well, there’s a concept I can agree with.  I can’t say it enough, I love her viewpoint (even though I may not 100% agree with it!)

I’ll admit, I haven’t had much time to explore her site, but in the limited time that I have, I have really liked what I see.  She makes a lot of food from scratch, food that I wouldn’t even think of making from scratch…things like yogurt and granola bars.  Take a look at her most popular recipes!   I haven’t had a chance yet to try any of her recipes, but I soon will!

I was so honored to be a part of Katie's farmer panel.

I thoroughly enjoyed answering the questions she put forth,  reading the other farmers’ answers, and seeing the reaction of her readers.  It was a pleasant experience and wonderful opportunity to participate in such a mature, educational forum.  I strongly recommend you skip over to her site and check it out.

Katie is one person that I’d love to meet face to face someday, I can only imagine that conversations we could have.  She’s a mom of two, soon to be three.  She’s a Christian. And she’s concerned and educated about where her food comes from.  If only there were more people like her out there.  I’m proud and honored to be a (small) part of what she’s doing over at her site, Kitchen Stewardship.

