Barbecue Beef Pizza on the Grill – Revisited!

Finished pizza....tastes and smells even better than it looks!

I’ve been grilling a lot this summer. I just love grilling. And not with gas. Oh no. One must use charcoal to grill, otherwise it’s just cooking outside, not grilling.

So, I’ve never considered myself as one to enter a cookout contest. Until the other night at our Farm Bureau meeting when I got to thinking about the contest that our county sponsored on Monday. A few days before that I had made an absolutely delicious perfect pizza on the grill. And, we were lacking in entries for the contest. So, the little hamster wheel in my head started spinning and I decided I’d do it, just to have another entry in the contest.

I also figured it would be a good way to promote this blog. Selfish, I know. At least I admit it. Anyway, HELLO to all who saw me at the contest and are stopping by as a result!! I hope you take a little time to explore my site.

So, I tweaked the recipe I used when I first posted about this pizza. I used The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for pizza dough. And I cooked the beef roast on the grill, which was sooooo good!!  I did a practice run on Saturday, invited the family over for supper, and they loved it.  So I decided to go for it.

The ingredients for the incredible crust, recipe courtesy of The Pioneer Woman.

The dough all mixed up.

First, the crust. I did something a little scary and made it from scratch.  Like, with yeast and everything!  And it turned out spectacular!  Sooooo much better than the frozen bread dough I’ve used in the past.  And it was easy!  I may have conquered my fear of yeast.  Maybe.  Time will tell.  Anyway, it was good, and it seemed to make it harder to burn the crust on the grill, which I had been having issues with using frozen dough.

Then the sauce.  I made it from scratch as well.  I wouldn’t recommend using this sauce as a condiment, but it does work very well for this recipe, and for making bbq shredded beef.  And the amounts are just guesstimates.  If you like a sweeter sauce, add more brown sugar, or for more zing, add more vinegar.  Same goes with the liquid smoke, onion, garlic, and beer.  Add more or less according to your own personal taste.

The roast, unthawed in the fridge and ready to be unwrapped, marinated, and re-wrapped in tin foil.

All ready for the marinade.

Marinated, wrapped, and ready to go!

Finally the roast.  I used top sirloin, but any beef roast will do.  You can make it in the crockpot, or the grill.  Here’s how I did it on the grill.  First, light your charcoal.  I used a disposable tin foil pan, lined it with two sheets of tinfoil, laying them opposite ways across each other with long ends to fold over the roast.  Basically, you’re forming a pouch to hold the roast & marinade, and the pan is to catch any possible leakage.  Marinate the roast with a cup of the bbq sauce, and a cup or so of beer.

For cooking the roast, I use the chimney to light the coals, and then dump them out into the baskets for indirect cooking.

Once all of the coals are lit, at least 50% gray, then dump them out into two piles on the edges of the grill.  I have baskets for the charcoal, but two piles would work just as well.  Place the roast and pan in the center of the grill where there are no coals.  Cover and let it be for at least three hours, four would be more ideal.  You don’t want to take the lid off at all during this time, as you’ll lose a lot of heat.  Just trust your grill to do the work.  Make sure you start with plenty of charcoal, and you’ll be just fine.

The finished product after about 4 hours on the grill.

Finished beef product.

When the roast is done, it should be so tender you can easily shred it with a fork.  Go ahead and shred it with two forks, discarding any scrap.  Mix in some of the sauce, to a consistency that is juicy but not runny.  You don’t want a runny pizza.

Light another batch of charcoal, about 1/2 to 3/4 of the amount you used for the roast.  You don’t want a lot of intense heat for the pizza, and the coals don’t need to last very long, as the pizza will cook in about 15 minutes.

Then, to assemble the pizza, stretch the dough across a pizza pan that has been brushed with olive oil.  Top with approximately one cup of sauce, followed by a generous spread of beef, 8 oz of mozzarella cheese, and your preferred toppings.  I used pineapple, green pepper, and red onion to make it a “Hawaiian style” pizza, and it was delish!!

All assembled and ready to go in the grill.

Once the coals are well lit, and the flame is all gone from them, spread them out evenly across the bottom of the grill.  Add your pizza, cover, and check in 10 minutes for doneness.  The pizza is done when the crust is golden brown, the cheese is bubbly, and the toppings are tender crisp.  It should only take 10-15 minutes to cook.

There was more competition at the contest than we expected, and it was really great just to see (and taste) what the other contestants were doing.  I didn’t win anything, and I really didn’t want to.  It was a fun experience, and I got to talk to a lot of nice people and share this site with them, so I consider it a win.  I can’t wait to hear if any of you try this.  Heck, a frozen pizza would probably even be good on the grill!  So, let me know if you try it out, or if you have any other creative grill creations you’d like to share!

And, of course, click here for the easy to follow, printable link to this recipe at Sparkpeople.com!

My crazy farm girls love this pizza!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Yea for you! I hope you had fun entering the contest. Stuff like that crosses my mind, then walks back across later.

    PW’s pizza crust is the only recipe I have had success with, and I have tried a lot of them. I thought I was cursed.

    I think it is okay to promote your blog! How else will the world get to enjoy your insights, wisdom, and food with out a little plug here and there?

  2. Yum! I have some menfolk who would love to take a bite out of that! And good for you for entering the contest! I’ve often thought about it – but always chickened out.

    • Go for it! It’s a man-dominated thing, which I don’t really understand. But it definitely throws em off to see a woman doing the grilling! I L.O.V.E. your blog btw! I just spent the last half hour exploring it, you make me feel like I live with you! And that’s a good thing, it sure looks like you’ve got a great life!

Comments are closed.

