Counting Our Blessings

This is not the post I inteded to publish today.  But circumstances changed yesterday in a split second, and the post that was going to go up today will have to wait for another day.

I have bad news and good news.

The bad news is that my beloved Expedtion is no longer with us.

The good news is that everybody involved in her death is ok.

It seems my family just can’t stay out of the media this week: Afternoon crash blocks traffic in Black Hawk County

Many will remember this letter she wrote to me last year: A Letter from My Expediton  I had plans on expanding her involvement in this blog, and giving her a monthly column.  And now it’s too late. 😦

So, the details:

Justin, the kids, and I were in Cedar Falls yesterday on family business.  I was driving and turned left into oncoming traffic, hitting another car.  It was a very busy intersection, and it all happened so fast.  The airbags deployed, and I think that scared the kids more than anything.  Justin lost his glasses but was able to get out of his door, and helped the kids out.  My leg hurt, but I was able to get out of Justin’s door and help him get the kids to safety.  Praise the Lord for good samaritans.  A lady had pulled over and offered her warm car for the kids to sit in.

I have no idea how much time passed before the ambulance and cops arrived, but it wasn’t long at all.  When I got the chance to look at our car, it was pretty scary.  The whole front end was smushed up.  the other car was across the intersection, and other samaritans were helping them.  They looked ok, but the intersection was far too dangerous for us to cross and find out.

The ambulance pulled up to them first.  A paramedic came over and we told them we were ok.  He said the other people were ok, and the amblance crew didn’t stick around long.  This is the important part.  Nobody was hurt.  Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord.

Long story short, the cops handled things, called a tow company, and everything was cleaned up and taken care of in less than an hour.  We were all pretty rattled by the whole thing, and my stomach churns whenever I think of how much worse it could have been.

So, farewell old Expediton, you served me well.  Thanks for protecting me and my family.

11 responses to this post.

  1. How scary!!! Glad everyone was OK. RIP Expedition-she served your family well.

  2. Posted by susan on January 4, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    you had a guardian angel with you yesterday…. thank god.

  3. Posted by Annette on January 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    So glad to hear you are all alright. Praise God for His safety!

  4. Glad you are all okay. What a terrifying experience. Sorry about the car though….

  5. Hit a deer myself on I80 late this fall that nearly totaled my little car. Glad to hear everyone is safe and sound!

  6. Accidents happen so fast. As we repeatedly said after our combine accident this past fall – equipment can be replaced but people cannot.
    Glad to hear everyone is ok!

  7. Posted by Sue C on January 4, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    OMG Lizzy! Sooo glad you are all ok!

  8. I have an Excursion, and I love it. When my F350 is hooked up to the gooseneck, which is frequent, I use my Excursion to haul anydrous, or the bumper trailer. It gets used alot on our farm. I’m glad you and your family are ok, it’ll be easier to replace your Expedition than your family. Good luck finding a new replacement.

  9. Posted by Sandy on January 4, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Thank God everyone is alright, especially you and your family.

  10. Oh, my word. So glad you are ok.

  11. Liz
    I am glad to hear your family is OK! I hope everyone continues to be healthy.

Comments are closed.

